Photo of a person standing onstage with hand over heart against a black background.

ADULT COURSES

Learn the craft of theatre making in a friendly, supportive environment. Our courses for adults (18+) are aimed at students who are interested in learning about theatre, creating theatre, and being part of a warm, vibrant community. No experience required.

ACTING 102
The next step for acting enthusiasts. This class will teach you the fundamentals of working with a script: What is the hidden information found in a play? How can we make the words our own, and what happens in moments of silence? Students will explore text analysis, voice work, character work, collaborating with a scene partner, and scene work based on acclaimed scripts. If you’ve had a taste of acting and want to dig a little deeper, join us in a words-based "excavation." Subsidy spots are available for each course on a first-come-first-serve, case-by-case basis.

When: Thursdays, 3–4:30 PM, Feb 10–Apr 14, 2022
Where: Online (via Zoom)
Limit: 14 participants
Cost: $120 + GST
Instructor: Hila Graf

REGISTER NOW


COMMUNITY JAM
You are invited to play and improvise in a casual and social environment online. Sessions will include both theatre activities and hangout time. This is your place to be creative and playful, and meet new friends! Sessions are free, but registration is required.

Wed, Feb 2, 11 AM–12:30 PM
Free

REGISTER NOW

Wed, Apr 6, 11 AM–12:30 PM
Free

REGISTER NOW


COMMUNITY CREATES

Led by Hila Graf, Education & Community Engagement Manager, this devised theatre program invites adult community members to come together and create a show. Students will explore acting, writing, and movement while working as an ensemble on an original performance that will be staged and performed on the Newmont Stage at the BMO Theatre Centre. No previous experience is needed!

Class location: BMO Theatre Centre, 162 W 1st Ave
Registration now closed

Term 1
Mon, Feb 7, 5–7 PM
Mon, Feb 14, 5–7 PM
Tue, Feb 22, 5–7 PM
Mon, Feb 28, 5–7 PM

Term 2
Mon, Mar 7, 5–8 PM
Mon, Mar 14, 5–8 PM
Mon, Mar 21, 5–8 PM
Mon, Mar 28, 5–8 PM

Term 3
Mon, Apr 4, 5–8 PM
Mon, Apr 11, 5–8 PM
Tue, Apr 19, 5–8 PM
Sat, Apr 2, 10 AM–1 PM
Sat, Apr 9, 10 AM–1 PM
Sat, Apr 23, 10 AM–1 PM

Tech + Dress Rehearsal
Sun, Apr 24, 10 AM–4 PM

Showcase
Mon, Apr 25, 4–8 PM

For more information, contact Hila Graf, Education & Community Engagement Manager, at hgraf@artsclub.com.